Offre de l'Agence Nationale pour l'Information des Jeunes
  • de-flag
  • fr-flag


European Charlemagne Youth Prize

publié le 

Young people from all the EU Member States are invited to participate in a competition on EU development, integration and European identity issues by the European Parliament and the Foundation of the International Charlemagne Prize of Aachen. 

Theme of the competition:
The ‘European Charlemagne Youth Prize’ is awarded to projects, which:
– promote the European and international understanding,
– foster the development of a shared sense of European identity and integration,
– serve as a role model for young people living in Europe
– offer practical examples of Europeans living together as one community.

The projects can focus on the organisation of various youth events, youth exchanges or internet projects with a European dimension.

Participation requirements
– participants should be 16-30 years old;
– must be citizens or residents of one of the EU Member States;
– can apply, either individually or in groups, in the case of group and cross-border projects, the project can only be submitted in one country which is closely linked to the project.


Applications in all official languages of the European Union are eligible
The projects submitted for the competition must have started and:
a) have finished between 1 January 2020 and 1 February 2021 or
b) be still running.

The prize for the best project is EUR 7,500, the second, EUR 5000 and the third, EUR 2,500.
One representative of the 27 national winning projects selected will be invited to the award ceremony and a stay of several days in Aachen, Germany on 11 May 2021.
The prizes for the best three projects will be presented by the President of the European Parliament and representative of the Foundation of the International Charlemagne Prize of Aachen.
As part of the prize, the three laureates will be invited to visit the European Parliament (in Brussels or in Strasbourg).

Selection procedure
The winner or the European Charlemagne Youth Prize will be selected in a two-phases process.

First: national juries consisting of at least two Members of the European Parliament (MEPs) and one representative of youth organisations will select one national winner from each of the 27 Member States by 15 March 2021.
Second: the European jury consisting of three MEPs, the President of the European Parliament and four representatives of the Foundation of the International Charlemagne Prize of Aachen will select the winner from the 27 national winning projects submitted by national juries in April 2021.

If you have any questions, email:

Deadline to submit your project is 22 February 2021 at 00:00 CET.

For more information regarding the competition please read the rules and contact the national European Parliament Liaison Office .

Find out more

autre Actualités