Offre de l'Agence Nationale pour l'Information des Jeunes

    Lorenzo Natali Media Prize

    Launched by the European Commission, the Lorenzo Natali Media Prize rewards outstanding contributions made by journalists from all over the world, reporting on issues such as but not limited to, fighting poverty and inequalities, sustainable developments, human rights, democracy, gender equality, environment and climate change, health, technology and digital, etc..


    The Prize was created by the European Commission’s Directorate-General for International Cooperation and Development (DG DEVCO), and named after Lorenzo Natali, an early champion of European development policy.


    Who can participate

    The 2023 Prize will be awarded in the following three categories: 

    • International Prize  reporting published by a media outlet based in one of the European Union’s international partnership and neighbourhood countries;
    • Europe Prize – reporting published by a media outlet based in the European Union;
    • Best Emerging Journalist Prize: reporting by journalists under 30 at the time of publication and published by a media outlet based in any of the countries eligible for the International and Europe Prizes.




    Entries should relate to the issues of:

    • Inequality,
    • Poverty eradication,
    • Sustainable development,
    • Environment, biodiversity, climate action,
    • Digital (gap, connectivity, e-governance, entrepreneurship)
    • Jobs and employment,
    • Education and skills development,
    • Migration,
    • Healthcare (access, assistance)
    • Peace, democracy and human rights.


    How to apply

    • apply via the online form;
    • entries are accepted in all languages (translation in English, French, Spanish, German or Portuguese is required for the entries that were not originally published in one of these languages);
    • they can either have one or several authors;
    • the participants must be the authors and holders of the copyright and the moral rights of their work;
    • all entries must have been published (print or online), broadcasted (radio or television) between 10 March 2022 and 9 March 2023; 
    • for text based entries, the length limit is 2,300 words, video and audio entries must be maximum 15 minutes long.


    Geographic eligibility

    Geographic eligibility is based on the location of the media outlet where the reporting was published. The outlet’s office must be based in an eligible country.

    The full list of eligible countries can be found here.



    Submitted reporting can have one or several authors. The participants must be the authors and holders of the copyright and the moral rights of their work.

    2022 winners cannot compete again for the 2023 Prize, but are eligible for subsequent editions.



    • there will be up to 3 winners;
    • the winner in each category will receive €10,000; 
    • the winner of the Best Emerging Journalist Prize category will also be offered work experience with a media partner;
    • winning journalists will be invited to participate in an online Award Ceremony.


    Deadline: 28 April 2023, 23:59 CET.


    Read more here.