Offre de l'Agence Nationale pour l'Information des Jeunes
  • de-flag
  • fr-flag

Lorenzo Natali Media Prize

Launched by the European Commission, the Lorenzo Natali Media Prize rewards outstanding contributions made by journalists from all over the world, reporting on issues such as but not limited to, fighting poverty and inequalities, sustainable developments, human rights, democracy, gender equality, environment and climate change, health, technology and digital, etc..

The Prize was created by the European Commission’s Directorate-General for International Cooperation and Development (DG DEVCO), and named after Lorenzo Natali, an early champion of European development policy.


Who can participate
The 2022 Prize will be awarded in the following three categories: 

  • Grand Prize  brave reporting published by a media based in one of the European Union’s partner countries on development and cooperation;
  • Europe Prize – reporting published by a media based in the European Union (not including the United Kingdom);
  • Best Emerging Journalist Prize: open to journalists under 30 whose reporting was published by a media based in the European Union (not including the United Kingdom) or in one of its partner countries.


Entries should relate to the issues of:

  • Inequality,
  • Poverty eradication,
  • Sustainable development,
  • Environment, biodiversity, climate action,
  • Digital (gap, connectivity, e-governance, entrepreneurship)
  • Jobs and employment,
  • Education and skills development,
  • Migration,
  • Healthcare (access, assistance)
  • Peace, democracy and human rights.


How to apply

  • apply via the online form;
  • entries are accepted in all languages (translation in English, French, Spanish, German or Portuguese is required for the entries that were not originally published in one of these languages);
  • they can either have one or several authors;
  • the participants must be the authors and holders of the copyright and the moral rights of their work;
  • all entries must have been published (print or online), broadcasted (radio or television) between 10 March 2021 and 9 March 2022; 
  • for text based entries, the length limit is 2,300 words, video and audio entries must be maximum 15 minutes long.


Geographic eligibility
Geographic eligibility is based on the location of the media outlet where the reporting was published. The outlet’s office must be based in an eligible country.
The full list of eligible countries can be found here.


Submitted reporting can have one or several authors. The participants must be the authors and holders of the copyright and the moral rights of their work.
2021 winners cannot compete again for the 2022 Prize, but are eligible for subsequent editions.



  • there will be up to 3 winners;
  • the winner in each category will receive €10,000; 
  • the winner of the Best Emerging Journalist Prize category will also be offered work experience with a media partner;
  • winning journalists will be invited to participate in an online Award Ceremony.

Winners will be announced at the Online Award Ceremony during the 2022 European Development Days.


Deadline: 31 March 2022, 23:59 CET.


Read more here.