Offre de l'Agence Nationale pour l'Information des Jeunes
  • de-flag
  • fr-flag

European Heritage Awards

The European Heritage / Europa Nostra Awards were launched in 2002 by the European Commission and have been run by Europa Nostra ever since.
The Awards celebrate and promote best practices related to heritage conservation, management, volunteering, research, education and communication. In this way, they contribute to a stronger public recognition of cultural heritage as a strategic resource for Europe’s society, economy and environment.

The aims are:
– to promote high standards of conservation practice;
– to stimulate the exchange of knowledge and experience throughout Europe;
– to encourage further efforts through the power of example.
It will achieve this by giving public recognition to outstanding initiatives and best practices by either individuals or organisations, which contribute to the protection and enhancement of cultural heritage in Europe.

In 2023, the Awards will honour up to 30 outstanding heritage achievements, among which up to five Grand Prix will be awarded within thematic areas that are transversal to the five awards categories.
The winners will receive €10,000 each. One will get the Public Choice Award.

The prize will be awarded to each of the following categories:
Category 1: Conservation & Adaptive Reuse
Outstanding achievements in the conservation, regeneration and adaptation to new uses of cultural heritage including cultural landscapes.

Category 2: Research
Innovative research projects which lead to tangible effects in the conservation and enhancement of cultural heritage and/or to improve the access, enjoyment and understanding of heritage assets by communities.

Category 3: Education, Training & Skills
Projects or initiatives related to cultural heritage with the aim of fostering knowledge transfer, capacity-building and/or enhancing traditional or new skills and crafts related to heritage.

Category 4: Citizens Engagement & Awareness-Raising
Outstanding heritage-led projects which foster social cohesion, inclusion, multicultural dialogue and understanding, nurture a sense of place and belonging, celebrate diversity and multiple identities as well as stimulate citizens’ engagement, ownership and civic responsibility.

Category 5: Heritage Champions
Influential and inspiring individuals or organisations whose exemplary action demonstrates an exceptional level of dedication, impact and civic engagement for the safeguard and enhancement of cultural heritage.

Entries can be related to tangible, intangible or digital heritage. The scope of the entries can be ranging from small to large, from local to European and international.
Entries may be submitted from the countries that take part in the Creative Europe Programme of the European Union.
You can still apply for a Europa Nostra Award if your country is not on the list of eligible countries.

Countries eligible for the European Heritage Awards:
Albania, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czechia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Kosovo, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Montenegro, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, North Macedonia, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Tunisia and Ukraine.

Countries eligible for the Europa Nostra Awards only:
Andorra, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Faroe Islands, Holy See, Moldova, Monaco, Russian Federation, San Marino, Switzerland, Turkey and United Kingdom.


All winning entries receive a certificate as well as a bronze wall plaque to be put up at the awarded building or heritage site.
Among the winners, five projects (one per category) will be selected as Grand Prix winners and one will receive the Public Choice Award following an online vote conducted via the Europa Nostra website
The Grand Prix laureates also receive €10,000 each.


Deadline: 5 Dember 2022.

Find out more here.