Monday, November 18, 2019
Home > News > UNESCO/Keizo Obuchi research fellowships

UNESCO/Keizo Obuchi research fellowships

UNESCO invites young post-graduate researchers in developing countries with a Master’s degree or equivalent, to apply for fellowships. This Research Fellowship Programme is financed by Japan through funds-in-trust dedicated to the development of human resources. 
The programme, named after the late Japanese Prime Minister Keizo Obuchi, offers a total of 10 fellowships to researchers.
A Lump sum contribution of US$10,000 will be awarded to selected candidates to cover research costs only.
The research can be conducted during 3 or 9 months.

The aim is to impact on capacity building and research activities in one of four fields:

  • Environment, with particular attention on disaster risk reduction (DRR);
  • Intercultural dialogue;
  • Information and communication technologies;
  • Peaceful conflict resolution.


Who can apply?

The application is open to postgraduate researchers, already holding either an M.A. or M.Sc. degree (or equivalent), no older than 40,
They can apply through their country’s National Commission and priority will be given to women, candidates from the least developed countries  (LDCs) and Small Island Developing States (SIDS) and African researchers.

All applications must be sent to the National Commission for UNESCO of the country of origin of the candidate that will then decide whether they will submit the application to UNESCO. Each Member State may nominate a maximum of two candidates. No applications will be considered from individuals
The applications will be closed on the 29th of  November 2019.

The Member States of UNESCO who are eligible to apply are:

  • Africa – 47 Member States
  • Arab States – 12 Member States
  • Asia and The Pacific – 39 Member States
  • Latin America and the Caribbean – 29 Member States
  • Europe and North America – 12 Member States
  • Associate Member State – Tokelau

Useful links :